Meet a Developer #1 – interview with Rico666

• 0_1504643897059_Meet_a_developer.png

Meet a Developer is an interview series with Burst developers from all backgrounds to learn about their insight on development and their vision. In this first episode, we interviewed Rico666, a member of the Proof-of-Capacity Consortium (PoCC).

Hi Rico. Could you please introduce yourself to our readers?

Rico666: I would prefer not to disclose any personal or professional information about myself. I can understand the desire to know people behind projects in order to be able to assess what to expect from them. Suffice to say I’m a computer scientist in my mid-40ties. Once upon a time, Rolls-Royce would say only that its cars produced “sufficient” horsepower. The fellow reader may safely assume that my skills, experience and cognitive capacity are sufficient for any plans the PoCC may have with BURST.

And what about the organization to which you belong, the Proof-of-Capacity Consortium ? How is it organized?

R.: It is in our first announcement: the PoC Consortium is a group of highly skilled and well funded individuals. Investors, executives, entrepreneurs, developers, admins, designers and college students. We are organized as a loosely and sometimes not-so-loosely coupled group with meritocratic tendencies.

An interesting way of operating. How and why did you and your team start working on Burst?

R.: Why: Some of us saw BURST as the prodigy which had been left in the gutter and thought it would be a pity to leave it there. How: We have our network. Jim knew John, John knew Brad… it was not hard to convince bright people to step into this project. Everyone wants to see the prodigy shining in the sun.

What future do you see for Burst?

R.: We believe, BURST should – for starters – be able to reach the same significance as NXT has today. Then we will go beyond that.

What are your plans to reach those goals?