A few questions about ploting and mining

• I am new to burst mining and I have spend about a week on studying everything of burst, but there are still some questions I can't find a answer.

1.How does pool mining of burst work?
    Is is true that the possibility of found a block by myself in pool mining the same as solo mining?

2.If I make 5 optimized plots in 1TB size, will it be much slower than make 1 optimized plot in 5TB?
    My guess is 5 plots will only cost 4 more seek than 1 plot and 4 more seek time shouldn't cost much. Is that true?

3.How does plot reading speed effect mining? what should be a reasonable read time for total 5TB plots?50TB plots?100TB plots?or even 200TB plots?

I am using nfs for reading plots.It cost about 5sec to read a 1TB plot.

• @shadowlin Hey, I'm not much experienced but I think I could answer some of your questions. When you mine at a pool, the chances for you to find a block is more or less the same of you mining alone, the difference is that everybody mines like they are a single person, so the plots of everyone kind of add together and the chances of finding a block boosts a lot.
    About the plots, in the beginning I had 3 plots of 1TB each, and made 15s to read them all (not so good CPU ):), after changing some things, I ended up with 9 plots, and the speed is the same. I think if you make 10 plots of 100GB per TB, you could see a difference in speed, but with that much I don't think so.
    The speed of reading don't affect directly in mining, the thing is, if you are in a pool and your plots take 60s to read, the pool may find another block while you are still reading your plots, so the reading stop and begin from 0 for the new block, making you lose the remaining chances that you had from the total plots.
    A reasonable time I think would be like 30s most.
    Hope this could be of some help :)

• admin

@shadowlin