If you had to choose

• If you had to choose For plotting Is it better to have a Mediocre processor but a good amount of RAM or a good CPU and mediocre RAM? I guess I'm asking how much does each one play in the plotting process?

• @gersey , for CPU plotting using Xplotter RAM has no effect. I can plot the same speed with 128MB of RAM allocated to the plotter as 8GB allocated. Get a processor with multi cores (threads). For desktop units, you get about 1000 nonces/min/thread.

• @rds doesn't ram affect stagger size? im not sure im still new to all this myself. but having a higher ram allowed me to use a larger stagger size, unless you optimize your plots I guess it doesn't matter.

• @kevmachine , Xplotter creates optimized plots, there is no reason to make unoptimized plots. I used the old plot maker months ago, abandoned it when Xplotter came out.

• @rds i still use gpu plotter only because its 3x faster and at the moment the optimized plots dont really benifit me as i only have a small build atm. Thou later on im sure it will kick me in the behind.

• @kevmachine , you need 3x faster when you have 288TB of empty drives sitting on the table. For a small build Xplotter is fine. Also, you can plot files less than the full size of the drive. They get done quicker, and they can go right to mining while the others are plotting. Also I heard that if the GPU plotter interrupts before it's done, the file is ruined and you have to start over. Xplotter you can turn it on and off, it will pick up right where it left off, power failure, dog snags the drive cable etc.

• @kevmachine said in If you had to choose:

@rds i still use gpu plotter only because its 3x faster and at the moment the optimized plots dont really benifit me as i only have a small build atm. Thou later on im sure it will kick me in the behind.