Dell PowerEdge C6100 8x Xeon Quad Core 32GB RAM Node Server

• admin

@Energy For Burst I'd get the first server. Good CPU, plenty of RAM, multiple drives. The C6100 is an interesting beast - it's a blade server, from memory it's 16 Blades - each one an independent dual processor server - but only 2 * 2.5" drives per blade. You could build a mega farm on it, but it would require in depth server and storage controller management knowledge.

• @haitch If but to create plots it would not be faster 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2670 Eight Core 2.60GHz ?
    I know that with the dell I can create 4 disks at a time, but individually Would not it be faster?

I am not an expert in this type of equipment and I think I would handle better with individual servers, I do not know that I would need to expand the dell, nor if my knowledge would be enough

• admin

@Energy The C6100 might be a faster plotter, but the storage would be external, you'd have to verify that the iscsi/fc was compatible between the C6100 and the system you intend to use to mine. The other server is a full self contained plotter/miner. Use the self contained one. I've been offered a C6100, I'm trying to figure out what I'm could to do with it. It's a huge unit - 10U - 18", multiple independent servers. It would make for an awesome replacement for my current cluster, but at 10U + 2U for storage, it'd be $600/month in colo costs, so that's not happening. Unless you really know servers, the C6100 is not something you want to mess with.

• @haitch said in Dell PowerEdge C6100 8x Xeon Quad Core 32GB RAM Node Server:

Unless you really know servers, the C6100 is not something you want to mess with.

That's what scares me, I do not know anything about this kind of servers.